in Prose

Spectre and Meltdown

You are probably aware of two high-severity bugs that have recently been made public. We want to reassure our users that we are following instructions from the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and our suppliers.

What we’re doing

We will be patching our servers over the coming weeks. These patches will require reboots, which we’ll carry out between 0400 and 0500 UTC. For our US clients, that’s between 8pm and 9pm Pacific, 9pm and 10pm Mountain, 10pm and 11pm Central, and 11pm and 12 midnight Eastern. We hope that this will ensure that the impact is as low as possible on your business.

Early reports indicate that there may be performance issues once these patches are rolled out. We’ll be keeping a close eye on the system’s speed following the patch: if it is severely hit, we’ll be prioritising work to decrease that impact in the next couple of months.

What you should do

There’s nothing you need to do at the moment with regards to Apply4. However, we highly recommend installing updates to your browsers and machines when they come.

For further information, please take a look at the NCSC’s webpage: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/

Write a Comment

Comment